Rural Social Economy Investment Scheme

For the purposes of the Scheme rural is defined as all those areas outside the statutory development limits of those towns with a population in excess of 5,000 inhabitants.

Settlements with populations in excess of 5,000 inhabitants are listed below based on the Review of the Statistical Classification and Delineation of Settlements March 2015 produced by NISRA.

The structure of the new classification of settlements is shown in Table 1. The table lists the settlements in each band, in order of their 2011 Census Day population estimates.

Table 1

Classification	Settlement Development Limit (SDL)
BAND A - BELFAST	BELFAST CITY
BAND B - DERRY CITY	DERRY CITY
BAND C - LARGE TOWN (POPULATION 18,000+)	METROPOLITAN NEWTOWNABBEY
	CRAIGAVON URBAN AREA including AGHACOMMON
	BANGOR
	METROPOLITAN CASTLEREAGH
	LISBURN CITY
	METROPOLITAN LISBURN
	BALLYMENA
	NEWTOWNARDS
	CARRICKFERGUS
	NEWRY
	COLERAINE
	ANTRIM
	OMAGH TOWN
	LARNE
Band C Total	14

Sustainability at the heart of a living, working, active landscape valued by everyone.





BAND D - MEDIUM TOWN (POPULATION 10,000 - 17,999)	BANBRIDGE
	ARMAGH
	DUNGANNON
	ENNISKILLEN
	STRABANE
	LIMAVADY
	COOKSTOWN
	HOLYWOOD
	DOWNPATRICK
	BALLYMONEY
Band D Total	10
BAND E - SMALL TOWN (POPULATION 5,000 - 9,999)	BALLYCLARE
	COMBER
	MAGHERAFELT
	WARRENPOINT / BURREN
	PORTSTEWART
	NEWCASTLE
	CARRYDUFF
	DONAGHADEE
	KILKEEL
	PORTRUSH
	DROMORE_BANBRIDGE
	BALLYNAHINCH
	COALISLAND
	GREENISLAND
	BALLYCASTLE
	CRUMLIN
	RANDALSTOWN
Band E Total	17

Footnotes:

- 1. The names and the listings of the settlements have been taken from the set of Settlement Development Limits (SDLs) provided by DoE Planning.
- 2. The labelling of bands in this classification as 'towns' or 'villages' is purely descriptive. It is noted that, for example, some settlements described in the classification as 'towns' are legally 'cities'.